Friday, August 28, 2009

Congress and JDS unite to share Zilla Panchayat Office

It is said there are no permanent friends or foes in politics. Political rivals Congress and Janata Dal (Secular) who recently fought neck to neck to grab the assembly seat very recently joined hands to share the Ramanagara Zilla Panchayat office ! On August 27th elections were held for the post of President and Vice President of Zilla Panchayat. Out of 22 members Congress has 11 and JDS has 11 members each. The present zilla panchayat office has only 16 months to complete the 5 year term.

According to the agreement between the rival political group the remaining tenure will be shared by both the parties. First the JDS will enjoy the power for 7 months and the Congress for the rest. Hence for the post of President JDS nominee Smt Nalina Navaneesh who represents Kasaba Constituency was elected unanimously. Congress nominee Smt Padma Krishna was elected as Vice President. Out of 3 sub committees the JDS will head one and the Congress will head 2 committees.

After the elections both JDS and Congress party leaders came together in front of the press and congratulated the newly elected President and Vice-President.

Leaders of both parties told the press that they joined hands to keep the communal parties at bay, which means the BJP. But the BJP has no presence at all in the Zilla Panchayat. Nor did the BJP proved its strong presence in the recently concluded bye-elections. Just to enjoy the power in Zilla Panchayat the Congress and JDS has blamed BJP!

Friday, August 21, 2009

Ramanagara Assembly Constituency Bye-election: JDS makes it again.

Mr. K.Raju is the new MLA of Ramanagara Assembly Constituency. Bye-election was held to this constituency on August 18th consequent to the resignation of Mr. H.D.Kumara Swamy who won the Loksabha polls recently. He had contested the election on JDS ticket. The counting of votes took place today (August 21,2009) at Ghousia Engineering College, here. The counting began at 8 am and concluded by 11.30 am. The constituency went to polls with Electronic Voting Machines which made the counting easier and the announcement earlier.

By the bye election results it is proved again that Ramanagara is the JDS fort. The dismal performance of BJP the party being in power in the Karnataka is because it neglected the ongoing development works. However the Congress has improved its performance.

Number of votes the candidates got: K.Raju- Janata Dal (secular) 60743, C.M.Lingappa-Congress 38728, Narayana Gowda-BJP 18556.

Bye-elections for the neighbouring Channapatna Constituency was also held on Aug.18 consequent to the resignation of the sitting MLA Mr.C.P.Yogeshwar. He quit congress and joined BJP and faced the bye-election but he failed to win. JDS candidate M.C.Aswath won the polls and he is the new MLA of Channapatna constituency.

Sunday, August 16, 2009

Bye Election at Ramanagaram & Channapatna

Its election time again at Ramanagara and Channapatna.

Ramanagara Assembly Constituency was vacant as Former Chief Minister who was representing the constituency resigned as he was elected to Lok Sabha.

At Channapatna the post of MLA was vacant as the MLA C.P.Yogeshwar who was elected on Congress party ticket shifted his loyalty to Bharatiya Janata Party and resigned his post.

On August 18,2009 the expectorates of both constituencies will choose their representatives to Legislative Council. Congress, Janata Dal (secular) and Bharatiya Janata Party candidates have locked their horns for the big fight. The fate of all these candidates will be known on the Aug.23, the day on which the counting of votes will be done.

Counting of votes is scheduled at Ghousia Engineering Collage, Ramanagara.

Sunday, August 2, 2009